A Season of Stilling; Thoughts on Advent

I just returned from spending a month back in the States with my family. And as the Lord, in His grace, often does, I was able to have some time to reflect and gain clarity on all that the Lord is doing in and through me during this season of life. He gave me moments to step back, and to look at this season with fresh eyes.

One of the things I came away with was a strong realization of the lack of rest in my life. A lack of slowing and stilling to receive daily what I need from the Lord; a lack of quieting my soul to listen to what He has to say. It seems timely too, that the Lord would bring this up as we enter into one of the busiest seasons of the year, Christmas. What should be a time of contented treasuring and joyous togetherness can quickly become calendars packed beyond full, and hearts and wallets running empty.

I often think of this verse in the Psalms, but especially during this time of year. David says in Psalm 39: 4-6 “ LORD, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered—how fleeting my life is. You have made my life no longer than the width of my hand. My entire lifetime is just a moment to you; at best, each of us is but a breath. We are merely moving shadows, and all our busy rushing ends in nothing. We heap up wealth, not knowing who will spend it.”

Did you catch that last part? All our busy rushing ends in nothing. Spinning our wheels and cramming our lives and attempting to control the hand of God, these things end in nothing. Busy rushing never brings about the rest of God that we are seeking. Anytime, but especially in this season where our culture says that MORE will give us the peace and rest we are searching for.

We are in the season of Advent, the season of reflecting on the coming of Christ, His coming into our lives daily, and His ultimate coming again. How beautiful it is that this Immanuel, God with us, has come to dwell with us, has come to make Himself known to us. I love what the Word says of God in Psalm 46:10, “Be still and know that I am God.” Not just, KNOW that I am God, but BE STILL so that you can KNOW. Be still in order to know this God who has made Himself fully known to us as the Immanuel, God with us.

I want to challenge us all, to consider what it means to be still, to rest in the presence of God. During this season of busy rushing that often ends in nothing, and during all of life. He IS Immanuel. He IS God with us. He has made Himself fully known, gently wrapping Himself in human flesh and taking some costly steps in order for us to know Him.

So who is ready to still, who is ready to quiet down and know Him as God?

2 thoughts on “A Season of Stilling; Thoughts on Advent

Leave a Reply

