Fleeting

It’s the perfect kind of dreary Spring morning.

Perfect for things like coffee and scones and chewing on the very Words of Life.

Words that strip away all pretense, Words that divide joints and marrow, Words that reveal the thoughts and intentions of every heart.

 

image

 

“O LORD, make me know my end

and what is the measure of my days;

let me know how fleeting I am!

Behold, you have made my days a few handbreadths,

and my lifetime is as nothing before you.

Surely all mankind stands as a mere breath!

Surely a man goes about as a shadow!

Surely for nothing they are in turmoil; man heaps up wealth and does not know who will gather!

And now, O Lord, for what do I wait? My hope is in you.

“Hear my prayer, O LORD, and give ear to my cry; hold not your peace at my tears!

For I am a sojourner with you, a guest, like all my fathers.

Look away from me, that I may smile again, before I depart and am no more!”

Psalm 39: 4-7, 12-13

Because our days, they are fleeting wisps of moments. Breaths and shadows and mere blips of a lifetime.

And sometimes, we need that reminder.

Sometimes, we need to chew on the reality of our frailty. Eyes extracted from the fixation of self, free instead to turn in rest to the God worth waiting on,

The God in whom is all our hope.

Leave a Reply

